Being a student in Strasbourg

I think I made up my mind about the classes I’m going to take this semester. I came here thinking I’d be focusing on anthropology and byzantine art, and it looks like it’ll be more like egyptology, papirology and database linguistics. Turns up I’m currently studying in one of the most universities worldwide when it comes to ancient Egypt, and I had no clue. Whooops.
Today I actually quit my first lesson because the professor was talking way too fast for me (he said he knew it though and he had that problem all the time. He even apologized… what a gentleman).
Generally speaking, I’m under the impression that university in France is very different from what it is in Italy. Of course I’ve only been here for ten days and attended classes for three, but there are things I couldn’t but notice. For instance, professors tend to be young here – very young by italian standards: I’d say they’re all between 35 and 50 years old. And it’s not just about their physical age, either – they smile, they joke, they ask if you can understand what they’re saying and invite you to ask if you’re in doubt… without losing their authority, and why should they? And every one of them (almost every one, the majority anyway) use computers during their lessons, not only to show the occasional picture of the Parthenon, but to teach about the resources that we, as Classics students, have online. To me, it’s new and amazing.
The whole system is a bit different, actually. French students don’t write any dissertation at the end of their undergrad degree (licence), and many courses focus now (on the master) on research to teach them how to. So for some classes I’m not actually supposed to just read books but to write papers. This is possible because there are fewer people in each class that I’m used to, I suppose… but I love it.I’m sure I’ll have more to share as time goes by. Now, I want to show you my carte culture and my student ID.

Cool!

Now I can actually borrow books from libraries, eat at the cafeteria, and start a language tandem!
And a couple pictures I snapped on campus on these first days.

They love tree-lined boulevards
The Patio is where I have most of my lessons.
Law faculty
More trees. Love that!
Palais universitaire
2 thoughts on “Being a student in Strasbourg

  1. Ciao, Anna!
    Vediamo vediamo se adesso ci riesco! 🙂
    Le tue giornate sembrano già belle dense! E almeno con la tua tanto sospirata connessione hai ripreso contatto con il mondo là fuori 🙂
    Immagino la soddisfazione di trovare tante belle sorprese, dal buon cibo alla calda accoglienza in università, dalla tecnologia a lezione all'imperscrutabile legame tra Strasburgo e l'antico Egitto…!
    Lo sai che ieri notte ho sognato che venivo a trovarti? 🙂

    Un bacione e a prestissimo!
    La tua (già) affezionata lettrice Martina

  2. ciao cara, sono Monica, la tua mamma mi ha dato il link così posso curiosare fra le tue giornate e mandarti un saluto tutto italiano un abbraccio

Leave a Reply

