Musée Alsacien

I never thought I’d say that, but Linguistics isn’t half bad if the professor has the right amount of enthusiasm and some (good) teaching skills.

Which meant after lunch I headed back to the city centre in quite a good mood. I wanted to visit the Musée Alsacien.

It was one of those nice, warm days that I’m trying to enjoy as much as possible, knowing they won’t last for long. In the morning, it’s already so chilly that my hands hurt. I still prefer this to the 35°C I have heard some you have had back home, especially when I’m gifted with such lovely sunny afternoons.

Strasbourg was the liveliest I’ve ever seen it up to date.
Lots of sun, so I went for a walk.
Love this
And this too.

The Musée Alsacien is very close to the city centre, and now that I have my Carte culture I can visit any museum for free (cool, cool, cool).

It’s basically a piece of history itself. It’s aged more than a century and most pieces it contains are original. Alsace strived for quite a long time to mantain its own identity while being trasferred from France to Germany and back again (four times, I think). This museum is mostly focused on the habits and costumes of rural Alsace up until late 1800s.
I really loved the pottery and ceramics. I had seen lots of that in souvenir shops but I didn’t know it actually typical of the region.

The language of Alsace is Alsatian. Even though people who can still speak are now few, mostly old and in the countryside, I’ve seen a few places that still offer it as a course around town. I think I’d join in if only my German was better, but I’m having a hard time handling French, German and Ancient Greek now, so… nope.
This was just over a front door. Alsatian is sort of half French, half German:

Alsace can boast an impressive number or regional recipes; a good part of them is for baked desserts, which entered the oven in their homemade pottery:

Kugelhopf molds, I think.

The following pic was taken in the Stube. The Stube was the only heated room (apart from the kitchen, that was usually too smoky to spend much time in) and contained the beds and a sort of living room. I was really amused by how short the double bed is. I was explained that the reason was that they didn’t really lay in it – they half sat, half lay. I’d never be able to sleep like that!

There was a part dedicated to farming. They were famous for their wines, but the cellar was too dark to take good photos. These are grains bags and not unlike many other items, they were often offered as a gift to a newlywed complete with the name and year of marriage:

This picture comes from the section about childhood. I really loved it! There were lots of toys (I don’t think they could really be toys from a rural context, though – they looked like they came from rich city houses), and a room dedicated to Christmas in Alsace. There were mixted traditions.
First, a pre-Christian tradition: Hans Trapp – a dark big man with a long black beard – came to ask the children if they had been good; for those, there were gifts; for the naughty, there was a place into his bag, and they were never to be seen again. (Hans Trapp was originally a lord known for his cruelty).
When the Christian tradition took place, they were merged anyway into the cult of St. Lucy, that was celebrated in the same days; so baby Jesus came to bring gifts in the form of a white-clad virgin:

When I got out, it was starting to rain. I was able to walk a while, but then had to get to the residence.
I won’t complain though, because today was supposed to be rainy too, aìbut we’re having a sunny day instead! Perfect for the mediaeval festival that’s going on in town… in one hour!
One thought on “Musée Alsacien

  1. Ma vedi, vedi? Santa Lucia è super gettonata anche all'estero! Ora sì che ho solide argomentazioni per sostenere la superiorità di S. Lucia su tutte le barbute e buffe divinità che imperversano altrove in quella zona di dicembre!
    Grazie Nana-san!

Leave a Reply

