Fall break

I’m back home for a week!
But let me tell you something about the last two days I spent in France before this break (which won’t last very long anyway). They were filled with fog. Friday morning, I woke up and walk like a zombie to the bathroom at the end of the corridor to see a wondeful see of fog had swallowed Strasbourg. I brushed my teeth and got dressed in 2 minutes flat, then ran outside to snap pictures.
It was magical!
That day after school, I went to visit the MAMCS (Museum of modern and contemporary art of Strasbourg) with a few friends (four girls from Italy, Germany/Switzerland and Romania and a boy from Greece), but I have to admit I wasn’t very interested in the permanent exposition…
Modern art is a bit plain to me.
The current exposition, though, was really good! It was about spiritism and symbolism in Europe between 1750 and 1950 and there were all kinds of strange paintings and even the little tables they used to gather around to call spirits, stuff like that. But you can’t take pictures!
On friday night, after an unfortunate few hours trying to get laundry done even though half the washing machines at the residence were out of order, I had visits! Emme and Manuel drove all the way from Italy to pick me up for fall break… how sweet!
I still wanted them to do something tourist-y, so the following morning, on our way back to Arona, we stopped at Bergheim and Haut-Koenigsbourg.
Bergheim is a cute little village that warmed my heart on that cold day:
 

We found a jam shop that must be famous, because there were signs all over town! I bought some stuff and can’t wait to try it.

Bergheim is right on the route de vins (wines’ route), which I’ve been told is amazingly beautiful in summer. I liked it very much in autumn too though!
Around midday, we arrived at Haut-Koenigsbourg – a castle on top of a small mountain in a forest.
The whole place was renewed about 100 years ago for tourists, but it’s pretty accurate and the results are fascinating.

The sun appeared through the clouds at the end of our visit!

We arrived to Italy that evening and I got to eat pizza! I was so excited to see family and friends again. I’ll be here until the end of the month, so I’m guessing I won’t post until then. I’m spending my time here with the people I love, studying for my Egyptology paper and petting my cat, that has never been so happy to see me. Also… eating pasta.

2 thoughts on “Fall break

Leave a Reply

